2 x 2 x 2 x 2 x 2……..

Well,  nothing like sending off your entries for the Grand Prix in October to get you motivated.  Motivated in the way that I have sent “Bug’s” entry off, and in every event she is in, she has to weave.  Now that is not such a big problem for a trained agility dog but there in lies my problem.  We are yet to tackle those pesky poles 🙂  Now that should create a potentially interesting couple of days for us, so now I have no option but to get off my butt and get training.

I love the 2 x 2 method.  Having said that I have trained 2 dogs with it.  One from the book which has lead to no end of problems for that dog, (purely because of my interpretation of it), and one from the DVD.  The book dog has struggled since day one and has to be micro managed the whole way and continues to need micro managing , where Ben the dog trained from the DVD, has the most beautiful weavers and entires.  I think having had 2 dogs already trained with this method with very mixed results,  I am well equipped for the third one and happy to say that because she is a thinking dog that really helps.

We are still on the 2 poles but she has had a lightbulb moment today and figured that you had to go in a certain side so that was great.  So, we are well on our way – if only I can stop procrastinating and make myself train every day on them.

Today instead of teaching me, she has reminded me to allow her to fail and let her work her way through tough situations in order for her to succeed.

Leave a Reply

